img - Nigeria's Premier Online Forum - Buhari names 27 RECs for Senate confirmation
Welcome, Guest.
Did you miss your activation email?

Date: May 09, 2021, 08:19:18 PM


Buhari names 27 RECs for Senate confirmation: Politics : - Nigeria's Premier Online Forum


Buhari names 27 RECs for Senate confirmation

By: alagbe003 (M) |Time : March 24, 2017, 06:14:07 AM
President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of 27 nominees for confirmation as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs)

The letter was dated February 27, and signed by Prof. Yemi Osinbajo when he was the Acting President. It was submitted to the senate on Tuesday.

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, read the letter during plenary yesterday but it was not referred to a committee because it was not listed on the Order Paper.

 Action on the matter will now wait for another legislative date.

Eight of the commissioners are nominated for re-appointment, while 19 are new, the letter showed.

Thirty three RECs have already served their tenure in the commission.





But even with these fresh nominations, there are still six vacant REC seats to be filled while three more will retire in July.

They are Aniedi Ikoiwak (Rivers), Baritor Kpagig (Delta) and Habu Zarma Hinna (Taraba).

Those re-appointed are Ahmad Makama (Bauchi), Mike Igini (Delta), Hussaini Halilu Pai (FCT), Sadiq Abubakar Musa (Kaduna), Jibrin Ibrahim Zarewa (Kano), Rufus Akeju (Lagos), Sam Olugbadebo Olumekun (Ondo) and Kasim Gana Geidam (Yobe).

The new nominees are Prof Godswill Obioma (Abia), Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa), James Iorliam Apam (Benue), Nwachukwu Orji (Ebonyi), Iloh Joseph Valentine (Enugu), Asmau Sani Maikudi (Katsina), Mahmuda Isa (Kebbi), Prof Samuel Egwu (Kogi), Prof Mustapha Zubairu (Niger), Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun) and AbdulGaniyu Olayinka (Oyo).

Others are Prof Riskuwa Shehu (Sokoto), Ahmad Bello Mahmud (Zamfara), Nentewa Goshwe Yilwatda (Plateau), Umar Ibrahim (Taraba), Emeka Ononamadu Joseph (Imo), Obo Effanga (C/River), Prof Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu (Anambra) and Briyia Frankland (Bayelsa).

States that currently have no RECs are Abia, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Edo, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Ogun, Osun, Oyo, Sokoto, Yobe and Zamfara.

Meanwhile, the Senate yesterday resumed  deliberation on a bill seeking to amend the Electoral Act to further improve Nigeria’s electoral system.





Briefs on RECs





Mrs. Asmau Sani Maikudi (PhD) served as board member of the New Nigeria Development Company.   She is a holder of B.A History from ABU Zaria, MPA Public Administration and PhD Public Administration from University of Abuja.  She also holds Professional Qualification of Fellow, Corporate Administrators of Nigeria (FCAN), member, Nigeria Institute of Management (MNIM) and Member, Teachers Registration Council (TRC).  She worked with Kaduna Polytechnic and rose to the rank of a Director; CASSS Kaduna Polytechnic.








Kasim Gana Gaidam is a legal practitioner from Geidam Local Government Area of Yobe State who had served as REC in Adamawa State during the tenure of ex-president Goodluck Jonathan.

He was also a commissioner for justice in Yobe State during the military era and had worked with the defunct Bank PHB.

He is a Principal Partner Rights Law Chambers

Gaidam attended the  University of Maiduguri where he obtained the degree of  Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.)  between  1979 - 1984 and Nigeria Law School, Lagos between 1984 - 1985.


Barr. Mutiu Agboke had served as Commissioner III of the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC). He studied Law at the University of Ilorin before he went into private practice.


Nentawe Yilwatda Goshwe held from Kanke Local Government Area of Plateau State.  He Studied Electrical/electronic Engineering at the University of Agriculture, Makurdi and Electronics and Control Engineering (EConE) at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University(ATBU), Bauchi.





Cross River

Obo O. Effanga holds a   Master of Arts (MA)  on  Human Rights  from the University of Sussex and   LL.B from  the University of Calabar.

He also Led and managed the Governance intervention work of ActionAid Nigeria; Technical Adviser on Parliamentary Work with  State Accountability & Voice Initiative (SAVI), Nigeria  between  2008  and Dec 2009.

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Reply

web site traffic statistics